Blind Firing.

Cr0-Magnon

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Going back six years or so when I started playing, "Blind Firing" was described as only presenting the weapon. Most typically around a door or over a wall. Rules against this make sense, it's both potentially dangerous and unfair. However the last few sites I've visited, have stated it's when you fire without looking down your sights (e.g. hip firing). This doesn't make sense to me, I mean you wouldn't shoulder a mini gun. One player was chastised for rotating his gun on his shoulder while he angled around a corner, even though in this scenario they were both shouldering it and looking down the iron sights.

What say you? Has something changed or is my interpretation incorrect? Obviously site rules vary from place to place, which have you experienced and which do you think it should be?

• Supporters

the version i always interpreted it as was you had to see what you were shooting at.

the whole premise being that holding a gun round a corner and firing without looking to see if perhaps someone happened to be right on the other side of the cover.

so i wouldn't consider hip firing, or any of the tacticool holding the gun sideways shenanigans as blind firing if the person doing the shooting has clear sight between his gun and the target.

it does raise the question on wether or not the use of mirrors/fancy optics (ie corner-shot style equipment) counts, which boils down to wether the primary purpose of the rule is safety (as above) or enforced fairness in terms of letting the target have part of you to shoot at.

5 minutes ago, Adolf Hamster said:

it does raise the question on wether or not the use of mirrors/fancy optics (ie corner-shot style equipment) counts

I made a cardboard periscope at school. Will have to see if it's up in the loft.

• Supporters
6 minutes ago, Cr0-Magnon said: