Less is more, thus shaved is more than bushed.. Warhead brushless question

Skara

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Morning boiiiis,

My AK motor died after idk, less than 4k rounds put through, I tried to repair it but a) I'm not very good at electric/electronic stuff and b) the motor is beyond salvation (one of the neo magnets popped out of the can and the commutator seems to be ultra deaded).

Time to get a new motor, unfortunately my "local" retailers (read San Marino stores) don't have anything interesting in stock at reasonable prices and I thought that if I was going to spend money anyway, might as well get a brushless!

As of now there are only three options for bushless (hue) motors:

• Option no.1 which I know nothing about other than being quite expensive at €160/170

• Expert something that are known for not being compatible with MOSFETs 

• Warhead Industries Black/Base motors, highly praised by our Lord and Saviour @Armourpiercing

(Smol EDIT: leaning towards the Warhead Industries offerings)

The plan is to stay on the current level of wankness, so with 13/12:1 gears, 16tpa 30k motors and Gate Titan/Perun Hybrid I'm around 22/23 RPS on a 7.4v battery, I might stretch to 24/25 but that's the limit for sustained full auto fire (read magdumping a bush cuz I can't aim).

Should I splurge money on these motors?

Which version would you recommend?

Edited by Skara

• Supporters

gotta vote for the warhead.

about the only downside is the motor tabs are very weak, and you really gotta be careful not to strain them when adding/removing contacts (although afaik they've been working at improving that since i had mine)

otherwise handles a titan just fine (with precocking/ab), i went with the standard speed so auto on 13:1 came out ~18rps but with a much much better response in semi than that number would imply.