Specna Arms Edge Upgrades?

Ragingrental

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Airsoft newbie here.  Recently I've been researching and getting myself deeper into the rabbit hole of gun upgrades/mods.  I'm mostly interested in getting more range and accuracy as well as better trigger response and, from what I have gathered lurking on this forum and researching on the internet, I decided to go for the following parts:

PDI 6.05mm barrel

13:1 SHS Gears

22 TPA Motor from ASG 

Flat hop the gun (only going to be temporary, might R-Hop later.

Shim the gearbox, possibly correct AOE?

I've also been getting overspin and double shooting. The gun is brand new and has all stock parts so I'm not sure why that's happening... (Only had around 2000 bbs put through it). 

1 hour ago, Adolf Hamster said:

have you read rule 1 of airsoft upgrading?

because it's an important one.....

Rule 1. Dont touch it if ya want to keep it!

That right? Yeah I'm right yeah?

I am so smart s.m.r.t.

🤭😉

Regards 

Normally I’d be on side with the regulars here, banging the “leave it alone if it’s your only gun” drum BUT I had a Specna Edge and the gearbox failed catastrophically, stock, quickly.

The Gate mosfet supplied is likely the cause of overspin and double shooting. With your new motor, hopefully this will be a thing of the past, if not it’s worth looking at a Gate unit with Active breaking.

The bearings are terrible in the Orion boxes. A bearing in mine shattered, the force deforming the shell. Replace with different 8mm bearings or bushes.

AOE isn’t really something to worry about, certainly not obsess over.