Suppose I'd better make the leap..

Venture48

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Well, I'm not entirely new to running around a field with a weapon, or cracking CQB in compounds and ship interiors having been an RN medic working with 3 cdo brigade RM for 6 years as both company medic within a unit and troop medic for a certain group of counter-piracy lads up north. I was recommended giving airsoft a go by a good friend of mine, ex para trained RMP, who tells me it's the most fun he's had since leaving the army (he's now a submariner, quite the career change.)

What I am new to is, of course, airsoft. I've never touched an airsoft rifle/pistol/you-cant-break-it-intervention weapon and I'm floating in the dark a little on exactly how much my experiences in the real world are going to shape up in the airsoft one. Am I going to get shot up by some 12 year old and looked upon with pity by airsoft vets? Yet another forces member who thought the transition would be easy? Or can I actually translate what I know onto the field?

I have to say, I'm not wholly interested in the 'milsim' side of things (get beasted on fire & manoeuvre/section attacks for a week until you can't move or rinsed with simunnition and it quickly loses its appeal) but I imagine like most people playing this game, I am just out to have as much fun as I can with what time I have.

So I found this forum, liked what I saw, thought I'd introduce myself a little. I've been thinking about how I want to approach airsoft. I'm contemplating dusting off that suit I've got in the wardrobe, strap some 9mm mag pouches to an armani trouser belt and buy myself a crome 1911. I've already got a bald head and some incredibly thick black eyebrows, a bar code on my bald spot and I'm practically agent 47. And who wouldn't have fun playing agent 47 for a weekend, right?