Modding for reliability and durability?

Floperator

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

I've not taken an AEG apart before but I'm used to working on airguns and I'm a locksmith by trade, so I'm pretty confident I'll be able to handle it once I've been through a few idiots guides.

So I'm not asking so much How To for now, just curious as to what sort of mods I should be looking at if I'm after durability and reliability. Not bothered about super-duper ROF or FPS, or even accuracy (it's already fairly accurate for an airsoft gun), just want to make it as dependable as possible.

BTW I have a Lancer gen2 M4, is this worth modding at all if I'm thinking in these terms, or should I wait until I have a better-than-entry-level AEG?

Check shimming, check for any snagging of moving parts (nozzle, piston, tappet plate), good neo magnets motor or brushless.

Check and fix air leaks.

Replace the piston if needed and every worn part.

Done, really.

• Supporters

for the most pews i'd say that the overwhelming proportion of reliability issues stem from 2 primary causes:

1. mistakes in assembly, most often caused by the person doing it being inexperienced (been there, done that, still have my collection of stripped pistons)

2. attempting to push unrealistic performance, most commonly trying to push the rate of fire too hard (also been there, done that, it's about half my collection of stripped pistons)

the easiest way to avoid both of these issues is simply don't fuck with a working gun.

there is one exception to this rule and that's mosfets, without any kind of mosfet on an aeg over time the contacts will either carbon up, or with a powerful enough battery burn out. a simple basic mosfet (i generally use the nanoasr for this purpose, other mosfets are available) will remedy this for the long term.