Verification of RIF buyers as private seller

Aiden Chen

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hey folks,

I've been airsofting for 2+ years but I'm new to selling used RIFs because I'm a collector that doesn't sell my stuff until recently I need to fund some other purchases.

My question is that, as a private seller, if a buyer provides me with his UKARA, how do I verify the UKARA is valid and registered with the correct postcode?

And if a buyer is registered with a club but not UKARA registered, how can I verify the buyer is an airsoft player?

Cheers

Edited by Aiden Chen

Some shops will check it for you (I can't remember which right now, but I'm sure someone will post soon). If they're a site member then try contacting the site

• Supporters

Since UKARA is just a central register of site membership (all UKARA numbers are created by sites) I'd be minded to contact the site directly, if for no other reason than that they might come back with "Joe Bloggs?  We punted him for being a mental case."

Are you really that bothered though?  I can point at several retailers who accept bogus "defences", or none at all, without consequence for them.

• 2 weeks later...

Even Firesupport who I believe who were one of the main organisers of UKARA, except many different defences as do most shops, Shooters Rights Association, Sportsman Association to name a couple. 

• Supporters
7 hours ago, novioman said:

Shooters Rights Association, Sportsman Association to name a couple

Those... uh.. those aren't defences for selling a RIF.

But I repeat myself.  Some-to-many retailers just don't care.

7 hours ago, novioman said:

….., Shooters Rights Association, Sportsman Association to name a couple. 

Those could be valid shooters, but not VCRA defences