Batteries

Aaron.l

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hi guys,

Complete noob talking here.

Got myself a basic smart charger. One that allows you to select voltage etc to charge at, battery type etc.

Also got a 9.6v 1600 nimh and not sure what to charge it at, volts, time and so forth. Also wanted to know if I have to discharge it before I store the battery and again, what volts or whatever I need to discharge it at and again, times and so on.

I'd appreciate any help.

Cheers

Hi fella

Has your smart charger got a display? If it has then that should give you the info you need.  Plug batt in and select voltage and select batt type ie nimh and select start. You may be asked to select  amps if so maybe go safe and select 0.5 amps. The charger will let you know when it's finished. Just dont leave it unattended and keep checking to make sure batt and charger are not getting too hot.

Not quite sure how nimh work 

But your charger may have a storage charge setting for if the batt is not gonna be used for some time. If you are using it regularly then charge it after game and then check before next game.

Stand to be corrected on above as not to familiar with nimh but smart charger will let you know if something is wrong.

Regards 

• Supporters
2 hours ago, Aaron.l said:

Got myself a basic smart charger. One that allows you to select voltage etc to charge at, battery type etc.

How smart are we talking?  SkyRC or similar, with a display?

Also got a 9.6v 1600 nimh and not sure what to charge it at, volts, time and so forth.

NiMH is a bit of an issue for chargers.  With lithium (or lead) batteries, you can tell a charger what voltage the battery is, and it will know what voltage to limit itself to, as well as limiting the charging current.