Can you use Nitrogen in a HPA tank

MorganL

I'll start off with I'm a complete HPA noob, I've just bought a conversion kit for my TM MWS CQB Block 1 & hence have a small HPA tank now that I need to fill up, there are a couple local dive clubs near me and obviously I can fill it up at my next game but outside of that I'm thinking what is an easier way to fill it up, I have access to an absolute ton of Nitrogen (I own a Fibre Laser) so on hand I have around 1,000L of 300 bar Nitrogen, what would the implications of using nitrogen instead of CO2 in the HPA tank? 

Well you're only losing 21% oxygen,  so barring potential condensation issues (cant recall hpa users mentioning this), the only other advantages would be convenience for you.

You have it for free so great... otherwise it's like having the premium air option for you car tyres 🤣

• Supporters
45 minutes ago, MorganL said:

CO2 in the HPA tank? 

Air in the HPA tank.

Which handily illustrates that we already use (at least) three kinds of compressed gas in our spud-guns.  I can't think of a reason why the type of gas particularly matters, just the expansion.

• Supporters

As long as you keep on top of your maintenance (not sure if the nitrogen would be better or worse for any seals in the system) then I see no reason why not. It can't be any more aggressive than the propane you'd have been using prior to converting it to HPA!

4 hours ago, Lozart said:

As long as you keep on top of your maintenance (not sure if the nitrogen would be better or worse for any seals in the system) then I see no reason why not. It can't be any more aggressive than the propane you'd have been using prior to converting it to HPA!