Looking for tips for first AEG Build - G&G AEG DMR Build Concept v2

LzChase

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

I've always been looking for realism but in the end, a gas gun simply isn't reliable as a DMR in a country with a cold climate due to the inconsistent FPS. I therefore look switch from GBBR to build an AEG-based variant instead. The picture shows a concept of how I want the gun, a G&G Knight's Armament SR25 E2 APC M-LOK, to look when the build is finished.

I have never worked with AEGs before other than switching from a plastic to a metal receiver on a CYMA AK, so I have absolutely no idea what I am doing and I wish to not ruin a brand new 600€ Rifle - Yes, That is it's cheapest price where I live.

I'm looking to make the gearbox as quiet as possible with a quick trigger response and clocking the FPS around 425. People I have talked to mention "Gearbox Shimming". I have no idea how this is done or how hard it is.

Finally, Since I'll be running a CTR Stock I wish to know if there are Ni-MH batteries that are small enough to fit in the buffer tube as I'd prefer Ni-MH over LiPo due to their ability to be stored with 100% Charge. If I need to use a LiPo battery after all I would like some tips on safety because I clearly remember the day a teammate's stock suddenly turned into a smoke grenade and then proceeded to be on fire for the following 2 minutes.

Namnlös.png

Edited by LzChase

• Supporters

how quiet do you want?

there's only so much quiet you can get out of an aeg, especially an AR variant with a tight fitting body (as opposed to a chunky bullpup body you can fill with foam)

if HPA is a viable option for you (ie you can get refills) then that may be an avenue worth contemplating, as it'll deal with your quietness and snappy response requirements in one (comparatively speaking) easy step.