New to airsoft

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

• Head Moderator

Hi all, I am new to airsoft having only recently been introduced to the sport. So far I have only played one game, down in the UCAP Bunker, where I was a magnet to BBs. Looking forward to going back there but with a decent torch next time.

Still doing research on a suitable primary weapon (once I am allowed to purchase a RIF) and think that I need something which favours the CQB environment. The Umarex brand H&K 416 and MP5 look great, with good reviews on You Tube, although many appear to have a fps rating that is too high for most UK sites. Expecting to pay about £400 for the weapon and £100 for extra magazines/battery/gas.

No idea of which pistol to get, although preference is for a Sig P226.

No doubt lots of newb questions to follow :)

It may be best if you were to purchase a a gun more suitable for beginners rather than a £350 high end airsoft rifle which usually only hardcore players who are really dedicated to the sport will invest in.

My reason for this is that you may not enjoy airsoft in future, or you have other commitments in future which may prevent from playing regularly. 350 odd quid seems like an awful lot to gamble.

But if you really feel like you're dedicated to the sport and have an unlimited budget, then by all means go for it.

If not, there are some really good options within the £150 price range that you could choose from. G&G do some really good beginner rifles with specs that can compete with weapons twice the price. The exterior is made of nylon polymer which is a durable plastic used in real firearms, this reduces the price significantly compared to the real steel weapons whilst still maintaining hugh standards of quality.

Hope this will help.