Buying a used rifle.

shoogs

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hello everyone!

I'm relatively new to airsoft and need some advice. I've been out and played a few times now and I wan't to get my own rifle now!

I'm looking into some used rifles. I recently got an offer on a Classic Army M4 and a Voodo Tactical Gunbag, rifle is with with 4 mags, loaders some ammo and a Walter red dot sight + 2 batteries and charger. All for £200.

Any thoughts on this? I've read Classic Army don't make bad guns? I know that he has tuned it or at least upgraded some parts in the gun.

Thanks for reading! :)

Please ask if there's more info I need to provide!

He says the worth is over £400?

People always think they're kit is worth what they paid for it. I see it like buying a used car; there's always a Risk you'll drive a couple miles down the road and it breaks down. There's no guarantee he put the thing back together right when he tuned so no one can really say What it's worth. All my guns are used and ive gotten by fairly lucky so far, but there are horror stories out there.

It's only worth what someone's willing to pay.

• Supporters

Indeed - these guns are like mini hammer drill gearboxes....

piston smashing into cylinder head, gears spinning faster than a car's engine flat out on M1 motorway

(just did some bevel gear rpm maths btw)

So it is no massive shock when they sometimes crap out on you/me/us

If possible try & see about buying new from a reputable retailer

that way should it crap out too soon on ya you got some warranty

Often when people go on about about various new upgrades fitted:

in my mind fitting "some" new parts goes hand in hand with general wear & tear

and if the "stock" part was showing some wear then most would replace that part with a slightly better part

eg: stock nozzle + stock cylinder head + worn seal/o-ring on piston head