A Series of (potentially) Stupid Questions

JustMark

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hey,

So I'm still very new to this but so far I've very much enjoyed playing and the support from this forum.  I've booked myself in for a couple more games and unless something dramatic happens and I change my mind I'll be able to buy myself a RIF early next year.  I want a tactical/contractor look AK (yeah heretic here) or maybe the Vityaz but there's so much information and quite a few options that it's a bit bewildering to be honest.  Some of this is a bit long-term thinking.  I don't want to waste my money :) but i'm not going to be a cheapskate about it if it's worth spending more. 

i; how important is a MOSFET really?  It protects the trigger contacts right so is it only necessary with higher voltage batteries?

ii; is it worth it to get a built in ETU?  I suspect not for a beginner as I won't know much different?

iii; it seems that the general consensus is that no matter what AEG you buy you will have to upgrade/fix it at some point so is it best to get one that has good availability of parts and upgrades?

iv; is it therefore better to simply buy a steel CYMA or an LCT and prepare to buy improved internals or is it ever worth it to simply buy something that seems upgraded out of the box like the Arcturus AK12 Perun https://www.taiwangun.com/assault-rifle-aeg/at-ak12-pe-2-burst-mode-ready-arcturus-2 .  Since I wouldn't know what improvements to buy over time it's hard to calculate the 'value'.

v; how difficult is upgrading an AK RIF going to be?

Cheers dudes

Hello,