Continuing with the M4

SeniorSpaz87

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

• Supporters

Ok,

So... Parts arrived; spend three hours rewiring the thing, heat-shrinking every exposed wire to prevent shorts, and making a mess of my table. Anyway, it now works. Sort of... The connection is good, but when I pull the trigger I get a high pitched whir sound. I immediately stopped trying to fire, and removed the battery so I wouldn't mess anything up. So... Any idea what's up?

• Supporters

Umm, with the motor, does it matter which way it's put in, as long as the wires are correct? And I don't know about the height... How can I check that?

• Supporters

I should have said, is the motor connected up the right way round?

To be honest you have to listen when setting the motor height, and I am no expert at it :)

• Supporters

Yea, it's the right way round. I know because the red connector has a red dot on the male end, and there is no female black on mine; it wasn't on when I got it, so it's soldered on instead

• Supporters

Probably not. After I reconstructed it I connected the battery, and when there was no smoke, I tried the trigger as a dry fire. The high pitched whir started, and I stopped the connection after around 1/2 second and removed the battery; I haven't done anything else with it.

• Supporters

There's a screw on the bottom of the handle. Wind it all the way out and slowly wind it in, firing every rotation.

Ahh, so that's what it does...

I've had this happen to me before. I found out either my gears weren't meshing right with the piston (AOE), or it wasn't shimmed correctly as the wear wasn't Central on the piston. I double checked shims and added a sorbo pad and corrected AOE and has ran fine since.

When I took the gun apart I found the gear and ruined the piston teeth and I needed to get a new one.

• Supporters