BB handgun oor Rifle

DannyG35764
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

I am new to airsoft and was wondering if you have to have a rifle to play or can you just use a handgun?. I prefer handguns to rifles but was wondering if this is something that is done often?

Any guidance and advice would be greatly appreciated

Almost non existent except at CQB sites.

In most cases the internals and barrel length of rifles allow for longer ranges and better accuracy meaning if your using a pistol your at a major disadvantage, especially if you only have semi auto and a limited magazine size. Rifles can have up to a few hundred bb's in a mag whereas even hicap pistol clips only have about 60.

CQB is different however, as many sites don't allow fully automatic and corners make rifles too long to use properly you actually have the advantage BUT, many people there use smaller weapons such as MP5, Mac 10's and other sub machine guns, again giving you problems with the size of your clip.

Summary: Possible but not advised, especially on an outdoor site.

This is also just my opinion, I'm sure other people will weigh in but for starters I'd recommend playing a game with hire guns (rifle etc). You can then see for yourself and make your own decisions.

great thank for the great advice. Just seems so expensive to hire the kit?? I need to find a good site down in the south east.

Could you suggest a cheap setup for me to start, that wont be too expensive but still keep up with the competition/

No, Im new myself. Did a fair bit of paintball but not done much airsoft. That having been said I have lots of spare time and have done a lot of research.

And yeah its quite an expensive hobby if im honest :)

Make this your go-to topic: (lots of reading but pretty much everything you'll ever need to know is linked in here)

http://www.airsoft-f...er-guides-info/