CM16 Barrel nut thread and handguard dilemma...

Cornholio
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

I got gifted a CM16 Raider 2.0 so thought I would modify it slightly. I got an "ebay special" free float handguard and upon receiving it I noticed the threads are slightly different. The barrel nut on the new kit is ever so slightly loose on my CM16. It's like the threads don't have enough pitch to bite onto the male end properly. I'm completely new to all the different types and sizes of everything. Can anyone tell me what the threads would be on my CM16 and what I need to look out for, and would anyone be able to confirm if the kit linked below (different one to the one I ordered) would fit my RIF? Any help would be appreciated. The seller is offering me a refund for the one I bought already. I'm only looking for cheap options as it's my first gun that will probably be getting replaced at some point. 

Edit: I've just been told by a friend that he bought the one I am looking at below for his CYMA M4, so does anyone know if the thread system on the CYMA would be any different to my G&G? 

Cheers.

This is the one I am looking at now. https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hunting-7-10-12-15-Bracket-M-LOK-Handguard-Free-Float-Picatinny-Rail-Mount/323493815392?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=512541974399&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

This is the one I have received and the barrel nut threads aren't quite right. https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/7-9-10-12-13-5-15-Free-Float-Rail-Mount-M-LOK-Handguard-With-Steel-Nut-Black/123081039957?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=423502525337&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

• Mostly Retired Moderators

We need @Gepard to see this thread.. if I remember correctly, he was in a similar boat about a year ago.

I know the Nuprol free floats are listed as not being compatible with G&G receivers...

• Supporters
2 minutes ago, L3wisD said: