Advise needed

Duff10
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

I'm new to the world of airsoft, and have recently acquired a WE G17, do I need a licence for this or a licence to take part of a airsoft game? Also want to purchase a assault rifle of PDF weapon any recommendations for a beginner?

HI, Marksman556 has a massive beginners quide somewhere I would recomend reading

id do some searching around the forum first and read up on the laws etc

welcome to the forum, is the g17 two tone?

No it's all black, looks like the real thing. That's why I would like to know if I need a licence. Common spence tells me not to brand it in public, but I'm even worried about using it in my own back garden.

• AF-UK Founding Member

Welcome to the forums :)

You shouldn't have been able to buy it. There is no laws against ownership, just purchase.

You can use it in your back garden but you'll need to be careful BB's don't leave your premises and it would be a very wise idea to explain what you are doing to anyone who can overlook your garden.

Welcome to the forums :)

You shouldn't have been able to buy it. There is no laws against ownership, just purchase.

You can use it in your back garden but you'll need to be careful BB's don't leave your premises and it would be a very wise idea to explain what you are doing to anyone who can overlook your garden.

Thanks for the advice, I did purchase from a shop and they where very helpful even had a range, but didn't mention anything about not being able to purchase. It wasn't till I got home that I started to think about how real this thing looks and maybe a licence was required.

After reading about airsoft games and looking on YouTube I'm hooked and can't wait to find a local club around nottinghamshire area.