New Player Northants

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to Airsoft and have only played 4 games (rented equipment). I’m in my 40’s so not a young speedy player. I now have a UKARA and I’m looking to buy an M4 type gun. I have a budget of up to £400 for the gun and an additional £150 for the batteries, mags, protection etc.. I have been playing in woodlands, but would also like to play indoors. I would rather have a gun that’s good out of the box and not have to initially upgrade, although in time I’d like to upgrade it, but happy for that to be a different gun to this recommendation. I’d rather have a gun that performs rather than looks good, obviously both would be great. I’m after some advice regarding:

1. What websites and social media channels would you recommend to learn more about the hobby and interact with like minded players

2. What M4 brands and guns would you recommend. I seem to come across a lot of conflicting information, for example I’ve heard G&G used to be good, but not so much now and VFC and Krytac are good out of the box but the UK version of Krytac comes with a 20k motor instead of a 30k, as sold abroad, which stops it being as good.
3. Any site recommendations that’s within 30 miles of Northampton. I’ve heard there is a site in Leicester called The Department and one in Nottingham which I need to research. 
4. Now you’ve been playing for many months/years, what advice would you give a newbie?

Appreciate you taking the time to read and respond, so thanks!

Tony

Hi fella and welcome to the good ship Afuk. 👍

Check out our friendly info warrior @GAMBLE. He has a tube channel full of information for everyone really. A laid back and informative fun channel from which you will get some good advice and insight.