Hello From Portsmouth

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hello everyone, I am Sebastian, and I am quite new to the airsoft, but I really enjoyed every last bit of it, including after lunch when belly is full and many players just go home. Got myself some stuff already a decent rifle, pistol, some gear, waiting for my medium rifle size bag to arrive and actually I want to take advantage and ask for some tips, I am looking to buy an ACOG scope 4x32 which I have seen is very nice and found it for about £60 on Amazon, is for a G&G TR4-18, any advice? I am booked for next week at Ambush Activities and this will be the third site I will be trying after South Combat closed and Badlands have nothing until end of June. Anyone here going next Sunday to Ambush Activities?

Thanks

• Supporters

Hi Sebastian, and welcome to AFUK.

I'm guessing this or similar?  

https://www.amazon.co.uk/BESTSCOPE-Hunting-Optical-Fiber-Reticle/dp/B08FB4WY9D

I can't speak to that particular model, but I will note that quality control on Chinese scopes is very hit and miss.  However, Amazon at least gives an easy return if you get a lemon (as I did from Ali Express), and most owners seem happy.

However, several reviewers flag up that the eye relief is short, which might be an issue depending on what eye and face protection you're using.  It's also quite common for airsofters to put optics on risers to get a more comfortable view through them.  Pic for attention, and you'll notice that I've set the scope as far back as I can because of the eye relief issue.

image.png.cb2c00527d67d2685d3d3aa007765995.png

And finally I do feel compelled to note that there's really no need for a magnified scope at airsoft 1.1J AEG ranges.  I run a cheap 1x40 red dot outdoors, and a cheaper holographic site indoors (where there are fewer reflections).  That lemon-scope there is on a DMR.