Funniest Airsoft Fallacies

Cr0-Magnon

This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

What were you lead to believe or just had a misconception of when first getting in to airsoft, which later turned out to be completely untrue? Alternatively what have you read/been told/overheard and straightaway knew it was utter BS? I'm not talking about any contentious teching habits etc but things which we can all agree upon.

One that springs to mind is someone genuinely believed if they put an 80 degree hop bucking in their WE G17, it would make it fire at 490fps because it said on the guide to their Maple Leaf rubber "80 degree: 490 FPS up" 

“The lighter your BBs the further they go but you sacrifice accuracy. The heavier your BBs the more accurate they are but you sacrifice range.” 

I’m sure this will sound entirely insane in this day and age. Very much because I started playing forever ago, back when it was rare to see anyone using ammo other than .2s. If someone was popping .25s in their mag they meant business, heaven forbid the fabled Maruzen .29s. But yeah, this was absolutely something I understood to be true.

As heavier weights became more readily available and the general consensus became try different weights until you find the sweet spot. I followed suit and seemingly now use different weights in pretty much every RIF I own (.32s in my MWS, .36-.4s in my mk23, .43s in my VSR and .48s in my SRS). But yeah, certainly the biggest ‘well that was a dumb thing I used to believe’ I can think of.

4 minutes ago, MiK said:

Mine was believing about a high cap mag once you wound the mag to get the BB’s at the business end you was all good .............

Guess it didn't take too much dry firing before you figured that one out!

2 minutes ago, alxndrhll said: