Where can I get my outer barrel shortened

Mantle
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hello, is there a place that I can get a section of my outer barrel removed and rejoined (I want to keep the barrel threads), or just shorten the barrel and rethread it? I do not want to pay  £100+ for a short barrel for my gbbr. I would do it myself but I have no experience with stuff like this and I do not want to mess it up. Thank you

• Root Admin

Getting this done professionally is going to cost you at least £40 for someone as this will need a lathe and the applicable level of skill to do it neatly. Doing it yourself to a grade that isn't awful without additional tools is next to impossible - even if you could shorten the barrel (which is the easy bit as most airsoft gun metal isn't hardened and can be cut with a fine tooth saw), you'd be left without threads (which again needs turning). Cutting out and rejoining a portion is also pretty difficult if you want it to look anything short of absolutely terrible or horribly weak (the contact surfaces just wouldn't be any good even for JB Weld.

It might be worth considering that '£100+' barrel or having this sent off to be cut down and turned to remake the threads.

I shortened the barrel manually, without a lathe, on my old WE M4, but it’s a bitch of a job and you will need to buy an expensive die (thread making tool) AND know how to use it.

Even having the skills, I wouldn’t do it again, not worth the aggro.

rdb

• Supporters

I have access to a lathe and i'd probably stump up for the shorter outer barrel.

Thing is even with a lathe it wont necessarily be perfect. Recently tied to mod an adaptor to fit a suppressor to my we sig and it doesnt hold square all that well.