Switched to propane, issues already

Chris_B
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Ok so I'm new to GBB but I understand the basic fundamentals of gas and temperature relations.

I bought my first GBB pistol not long ago and bought a can of nuprol green gas to get me plonking and used to my new pistol.

After using up my first can I immediately wanted to switch to propane for cost purposes.

So I bought the madbull propane mag fill adapter for 20 sheets, and a couple of propane tank adapters to fill the plumbers bottles (400g) which I have an empty one I kept for this purpose.

So I made sure that all the gas had been burnt off/ dispelled before putting it in the freezer for 30 mins. I have an old 4.7kg shell propane tank that I've had for years, I weighed it and it was almost full. Deducted the tare weight of the steel tank.

Took the chilled bottle out of the freezer, weighed it empty and screwed her onto the 4.7kg tank & adapter. Flipped her upside down and slowly opened the valve. A small hiss was heard and then stopped. Great! It's full.... Wrong, took the tank off and barley 0.5g went in according to the scales.

I tried both refill adapters and same result occurred.

So then I bought a fresh 400g propane bottle from screwfix to try out. Screwed on the madbull propane fill adapter, squirt a drop of silicone in the adapter as instructed and tried to fill a mag. Brand new mag btw.

I could only get one or two shots off at low velocity before all the gas vents and the top slide & mag freezes. The air temp was around 15°C at the time.

Please could someone give me some advice on the tank filling & mag filling issue as I don't really want to spend a fortune on green gas!

Sorry for the novel, jus trying to get as much info written as possible for you guys.

Pistol is a WE M9A1 for reference.

Thanks for reading!

• Supporters