Help upgrading Dboys Hk416

Charlie Murphy
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hi guys,

*Generic i'm new to airsoft speech*

I'm new to airsoft, but i've done the research, and am aware of Dboy internal problems. I really wanted a HK416 tho, and this is the cheapest model available for me in europe. So im planning to upgrade the internals to make it a decent aeg.

*NOTE: I'm getting the rear-wired version*
http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/d-boys-hk416-full-metal-airsoft-aeg.html#.V0iQvPmLSHs

i bought a Dboys/Boyi HK416, im hoping to turn it into a decent Medium/Long range rifle. I'm hoping to shoot around 50 meters (30-60 yards), with a RoF of around 20

What parts should be replaced first, and by what brands?
(If you could give me links, so i see specifically what brand/price)

I'd appreciate the help guys!

Thanks in advance,

Charlie Murphy

• Supporters

Very little tbh

comes with bearing spring guide (plastic but it is fine they do not HAVE to be metal)

piston head (blue plastic head) seals very well - miles superior to other stock piston heads

The piston itself and the sector gear I am not a great fan of but will suffice for modest 20rps

just a bit of ptfe tape to seal it to cylinder, possible o-ring change if seal isn't astounding

The main to change or consider changing is hop unit - f*cking crap clear one to red element accurate g36/prowin clone type

o-ring nozzle would be wise, clear plastic nozzle is not great

often these come in hot 385fps so spring downgrade or Shortstroke a couple of teeth if using a full metal tooth piston

(correcting AoE blah blah blah)

it comes with 7mm bearings which will be ok-ish but pushing higher speeds past 20rps they can fail at 27rps in under 20k rounds

(well mine did :()

but going easy they should be fine...

If and when they fail replace with bushings and maybe a 16:1 gear set - no need to go nutz