Advice on changing M16 fixed rear stock

Sleighton
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

Hi Guys - Newbie here, just getting into airsofting myself and would like some advice on changing the stock on my M16a4.

Its a G&P M16A4 (http://www.proairsoftsupplies.co.uk/acatalog/M16A4-AEG-G-P-GP627.html) which i have changed the handguard on to a magpul with rail system. (pictures below)

My next thought is to get the stock changed out to a crane stock that would house the battery in the same way the current stock is doing.

Can anyone help with advise of if any wiring amendments would need to be made and also any recommendations on a specific stock ?

TgZdOCI.jpg

0mkr3eS.jpg

As far as I know you shouldn't need to do any re-wiring but just need a battery that will fit in a crane stock. In that case you will want a nunchuck style battery. Try component-shop and get a 8.4 / 9.6V one with 1600mAh+ charge.

Alternatively you could get a LiPo crane stock battery which will increase ROF and response times. However, you may need a new charger for LiPo batteries.

You'll need a stock tube and you may as well get a nice Magpul ASAP plate while you're at it. You should be able to run your existing wiring through the stock tube, but you may have to remove the fuse depending on how much space you have.

As for "house the battery in the same way the current stock is doing." you're out of luck. A crane stock will need a new battery as described by MrB, the battery will need to be a nun chuck type as it's housed either side of the stock tube in the pods on the stock. Or you could get a battery bag/pouch that will strap to the side of a standard collapsible stock that will allow you to use your current battery http://ant-supplies.co.uk/Pages/RifleStockBatteryPouches.aspx