AEG Upgrading and Basic Tips

Philby21
This thread is over three months old. Please be sure that your post is appropriate as it will revive this otherwise old (and possibly forgotten) topic.

I've wrote this recently as I've seen a few posts about how to upgrade this and that and thought this might help people out a bit, if anyone has any ideas for improvements or other general hints and tips then go for it!

Firstly, this article isn’t going to magically tell you how to upgrade every AEG ever built to maximum range, accuracy and ROF!  What it will do is tell you how to find this out for yourself and warn you of what some of the pitfalls are that I’ve picked up on in doing my own upgrading.

A bit of background before I begin though.  I don’t claim to be an airsoft expert, I’ve been playing for a couple of years now and don’t get out anywhere near as much as I’d like to.  I did the same thing that most new players do and bought a pistol first, I’ll admit it’s not the best thing to do but will say that CQB games using pistols are HUGE fun!!  I then bought a second hand SRC G36C from a trusted friend that served me well, right up to the point that the sector gear broke and stripped the piston of its teeth, and this is where I began learning about upgrades.  I originally started just wanting to get it up and running well again but it kind of grew a bit from there!

General Advice:

If you only own one AEG that you use regularly and it’s working well – LEAVE IT ALONE!  The last thing you want to do is start tinkering and then render your only decent weapon a complete wreck.  You’re better off waiting until you either have more than one or it breaks, otherwise find a good tech who can do the work for you.